A Perfect Summer Evening with Gov’t Mule at Humphreys Concerts By The Bay in San Diego, California 6-14-2022



It was the perfect summer evening in San Diego, and there was no better place to enjoy it than Humphreys Concert By The Bay with two full sets of Gov’t Mule. Since 1982, the 1400 seat venue has been bring some of the best in music to San Diego and its location cannot be beat. It sits right on the San Diego Bay and has spawned a whole new way of seeing a show, that is, folks bring their boats, kayaks and other floating platforms off to the side of the venue resulting in a floating audience for many of the shows. Usually the shows are all seated affairs but in recent years, there have been many more general admission, standing room only shows, like the Gov’t Mule show on June 14, 2022. 

Gov’t Mule was formed by Warren Haynes, Matt Abts, and Allen Woody while they were all performing with the Allman Brothers Band back in the early 1990s and released their first album in 1995. After a couple of lineup changes at bass, the current lineup has been performing together since 2009 and just seem to get better each time I see them. The show in San Diego was a blast of southern rock that had the crowd dancing and singing along though the two set, 16 tune show. 

The band really seemed to be having fun on stage and that always makes for a better show. I have seen Gov’t Mule many time over the past 20+ years and this was my favorite show so far. A great setlist, a beautiful venue, and friendly crows all combined for a very memorable evening of music. Looking forward to the next tour. Check out MuleTracks where you can stream or download concerts from the bands, I will be looking forward to when the San Diego show is available.



Warren Haynes – Guitar, Vocals

Matt Abts – Drums

Danny Louis – Keys

Jorgen Carlsson – Bass





Set 1:

1.) Hammer And Nails
2.) Mule
3.) Soulshine
4.) Banks Of The Deep End
5.) I Think I Know What I Mean > When The Levee Breaks > I think I Know What I Mean
6.) Slackjaw Jezebel
7.) If Heart Aches Where Nickels
8.) Asked Her For Water She Gave Me Gasoline
Set 2:
1.) Unring The Bell
2.) Endless Parade
3.) Doing It To Death
4.) Million Miles
5.) Wake Up Dead
6.) Snatch It Back > Hold It
7.) Thorazine Shuffle
8.) Fallen > Other One Jam
Follow Gov’t Mule Online: