Dawn of Ashes New Album “Scars of the Broken” Tackles The Subject Of Mental Heath Awareness. OUT NOW!



On March 18, 2022, Dawn of Ashes released their latest album “Scars of the broken” on Artoffact records.  This album tackles the tough subject of mental health head on. With its driving Industrial beats, atmospheric lulls and (mostly) grinding vocals, Scars of the Broken guides the listener through the pain and agony of mental illness all while trying to instill hope and the strength involved in carrying on with life.  

The first single, “EMDR”, named after the therapy technique Eye Movement Desensitization and Reprocessing deals with loneliness and loss and the pain involved.  The insightful lyrics and perfectly timed lulls give the listener a message then few moments to digest said message before they get hit with an onslaught of lyrics again.



The second single is the title track, “Scars of the Broken”. This is my personal stand out track, the vocals were pulled back a bit and the music itself is just spot on. The chorus lyrics, “Another day of being brave”, “We’re survivors from our misery”, “Another day trying to be free”, “You’ll be a survivor from misery” really hits home with its message of hope. 



My next favorite track is “The Antidote” Again with the pulled back vocals, this track is one of the more mellow on the album. I can see this track being a hit in your favorite dimly lit Industrial, Goth club. It definitely sets a mood.

The entire album is filled with pain, suffering, the feelings of loss and loneliness, all while keeping that glimmer of hope alive. Musically and lyrically this is a powerful album. The ebbs and flow of the music are amazingly timed with the poignant lyrics.  Kristof said he poured out every darkest and deepest emotion into every song. It shows. Mental health is so important and these days, more than ever. It’s refreshing to see these artists put themselves in the forefront of these issues. Scars of the Broken is a testament to all the people that are struggling both with and without help.  Order your copy on Apple Music, Amazon Music or directly through Bandcamp HERE


I give this 8/10 stars


If you are someone you know are struggling with mental health issues, please reach out for help. Reach out to a family member, friend or a mental healthcare professional. 

In the USA you can visit mentalhealth.gov

For the rest of the world you can visit checkpointorg.com


Band members

Kristof Bathory – vocals

Bahemoth – keyboards, electronics

Angel Nightmare – guitar, keyboards

Krock – drums

Krz Souls – electronic drums



Track List:
1. (Descending) Torn Inside
2. Love is Asphyxiation
3. The Despondent Hole
5. Bane of Your Existence
6. (Limbo) Numb
7. It Comes in Waves
8. Heart Beats Cold
9. Turn It Shallow
10. Scars of the Broken
11. The Antidote
12. (Ascending) Catharsis



Follow Dawn of Ashes Online: