Devon Allman Dazzles Listeners With His Newest Record, “Miami Moon” Release Date: August 16, 2024



When you think of Devon Allman your mind might go in one of two directions. At one point you might remember that Allman’s father, Gregg, was a successful musician in the Allman Brothers Band and had hits such as “Ramblin’ Man” and “Midnight Rider.” The second part of your brain might go in a different direction. It might be remembered that Devon Allman is a guitar virtuoso and has played in many bands like Honeytribe, his current solo group as well as The Allman Betts Band which keeps the tradition of the Allman Brothers Band alive. If your brain goes to the latter then look no further than Allman’s newest record, Miami Moon.

The record is the follow-up to the Rollers EP he released in the summer of 2023. Miami Moon contains nine songs and clocks in at 39 minutes of great guitar mastery with a flair of Miami kick. What stood out to me was that Allman was stepping away from the southern rock that he was accustomed to. It’s always great when artists step outside their comfort zone and experiment and try different sounds.

Right off the bat with song one,  “White Horse,” I was surprised at the Santana sound and grooves. While not being a copy of the Rock and Roll Hall of Famer, Allman picks the perfect song to open the record with. Allman’s voice is smooth and commanding. I love how the music is layered behind Allman’s voice as he takes centerstage on lead vocals. On the chorus of the track, the use of bongos and maracas adds a refreshing sound to the record. There is a groove that the band gets into right from the start and stays consistent throughout the record. The solo on this track is perfect. It’s not too flashy, it’s not too in your face and it’s perfectly crafted to fit the needs of the song and add texture to this opening track.



What will be apparent to listeners on this record is that Allman is a guitar master. Hearing his solos and overall playing was great. On track two, “Incredible,” I liked the use of the wah-wah pedal throughout the solo. Sometimes a tune calls for a straight-up solo, other times another element like a wah-wah pedal or talk box is needed. When an additional sound is required and executed correctly, it’s brilliant. That is what Allman did on track two. 

The third track on the record is titled “You.” The mellow tune shows Allman’s softer side and ability to noodle and finger around on the guitar. It was refreshing to hear a different tempo on just the third song. Again, the solo complimented the overall vibe of the track and did no harm to the almost five-minute song, it only made it that much better.

As listeners make their way to track four, they’ll notice that it’s the title track. For the first 20 seconds, fans hear random noises such as an owl hooting and a plane flying overhead before any instruments. With a smooth transition, Allman’s guitar and voice take the forefront. The pace of this song is slightly slower than “You.” While Allman dazzles on guitar, the saxophone solo steals the show on this song. It’s not like a rock and roll saxophone that you would find on a Bruce Springsteen and The E Street Band record. It’s a more jazz-like saxophone that makes it more of a jazz song. Overall, it’s a beautiful tune to include on the record and is one of the strongest on the album.

On this record, there are two jam and instrumental songs. Tracks five and eight, “Sahara” and “Take Time to Taste It” each take listeners on separate journeys. Having “Sahara” be in the middle of the record did an outstanding job of separating the first half of the record from the second. “Take Time to Taste It” which has more of a funk flavor to it helped make it seem like there were more songs and that the record lasted longer than it’s 39 minutes.

“Climb Aboard” could also have worked perfectly as the opening of the record. It’s more rock-oriented and has a more driving beat. The repetition of the chorus and the words “climb aboard, we’re leaving, time to go” left a much-needed earworm that I found myself singing along with the band by the end. “Climb Aboard,” is in contention with track seven as one of my favorite songs on the record.

“Body Electric” comes out of the gates with a saxophone, acoustic guitars and a drum build-up before taking off. All the different sounds of the song are amazing. There was something for everyone to enjoy between the funk-style guitar and the string instruments sprinkled throughout the three-and-a-half-minute tune. Again, the saxophone provided another stellar solo towards the final minute of the tune. The entire song was spotless, from the vocals to the overall production.

The final track, “You Gotta Make it Through the World,” had a Black Crowes call and response style to it. The harmonies on this track are beautiful. With the keyboards helping lead the way this was a great song to close on. It’s groovy, has a great feeling and it leaves listeners wanting the record to keep going. The drum beat behind Allman had been steady throughout the record. Now, hearing nothing but the beat and Allman for a few seconds at the end was a treat.

It’s always interesting when an artist takes a step away from their comfort sound. Sometimes they miss the mark completely, other times, they nail it right on the head. For Allman, he hits the nail on the head and goes above and beyond.

Adding a Miami flare to the overall record, Allman produces what could be the soundtrack to the summer. The breezy paradise vibes make it an enjoyable and easy 39-minute listen that makes fans eager to want a follow-up to Miami Moon immediately.








1. White Horse

2. Incredible

3. You

4. Miami Moon

5. Sahara

6. Climb Aboard

7. Body Electric

8. Take Time To Taste It

9. You Gotta Make It Through The World








Follow Devon Allman Online: