Do You Remember Heart's “Dreamboat Annie” released in 1975



When you think of the rock band Heart, your mind might go to some of their biggest hits like “Barracuda,” “Alone,” or “These Dreams.” But, before those smash hits were made, it all started with their debut record. Dreamboat Annie was the album that started it all for the Seattle, Washington band. The group is led by sisters Ann and Nancy Wilson and they were inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 2013. Dreamboat Annie – originally released in Canada under Mushroom Records – eventually reached the No. 7 position on the US Billboard 200.

The Wilson sisters have kept the band going and are currently on tour now. Despite the other members from the original lineup not being in the band, the group sounds as good as ever. Dreamboat Annie launched a local Northwest band into rock and roll icons.

The first track starts with a blistering chord from guitarist Roger Fisher. Song one, “Magic Man,” is one of the band’s most well-known songs. The laidback tune features some of lead singer, Ann Wilson’s best vocals. Fisher’s solo from this track has also gone down as legendary. The rhythm section of bassist Steve Fossen, rhythm guitarist Nancy Wilson, keyboardist Howard Leese and drummer Michael Derosier do a great job of keeping the beat down for Fisher. Throughout the song, Ann Wilson further shows her extremely powerful vocal range.



Track two, “Dreamboat Annie (Fantasy Child)” is a soft tease of a later song to come on the record. The track is a short one minute and 10 seconds as it fades into track three, “Crazy On You.” I love it when a song fades into another. Pink Floyd’s Dark Side of the Moon is a perfect example of this. It creates an easy transition between songs.

The powerhouse tune has been featured in numerous movie trailers and soundtracks. “Crazy On You” is one of my favorite songs of all time. The first riff from Nancy Wilson’s acoustic guitar gives the song away immediately. It’s a powerful opening that eventually fades into the background as the rest of the band kicks in. This song has a great driving beat and has the power to amp up any listener. The duel guitar solo on this song adds another complex layer of sound. Without becoming too messy, the solo is the bridge to the song’s final seconds.

Track five, “Dreamboat Annie,” marks the halfway point for listeners. Like song two, it starts the same way but at a faster pace than the other song. I love the use of chimes in this song. It adds a dreamy, soft effect to the song. Fossen’s simple bass lines do a perfect job of guiding the song through the two-minute run time. In addition, the use of the banjo in the background was another surprise. I would have never thought of a band like Heart to use a banjo yet, it works for them here.



On track six, “White Lightning and Wine,” it starts with a funky beat by the entire band. The overall vibe of the song is different. I love how this song stands out among the rest. There’s a smoothness between Ann Wilson’s voice and Fisher’s guitar that blends well together. Derosier also does a great job on this track at keeping a firm and simple beat down to move the almost four-minute song along.

Track seven is one of the group’s softer songs. “(Love Me Like Music) I’ll Be Your Song,” is one of the band’s most beautiful songs on the record. I like how Nancy Wilson’s acoustic guitar is more prominent on this track than Fisher’s, it’s a nice balance between the two. On this track, Fisher’s pluck style on the guitar is a nice new addition of sound that hasn’t been heard much on the record. The subtle use of the orchestra in the background creates a nice cushion for the overall sound of the tune. When used correctly, the use of clapping can be extremely effective. That’s what Heart did on this track as it slowly comes to an end.

The final three songs on the album are a perfect wrap-up. “Sing Child” is, for Heart, one of their heavier songs while “How Deep It Goes,” is the opposite. This ballad song includes a piano and more strings to diversify the record. “How Deep It Goes” is soft yet beautiful, there isn’t much to hate about this tune. The final song, “Dreamboat Annie (Reprise)” is the perfect wrap-up of the record. Like the two other songs on the record, the lyrics and style are essentially the same. This song is, in fact, longer than the original “Dreamboat Annie” tune that’s in the middle of the record. The string section brings the song to the acoustic guitar and vocal finale between the Wilson sisters. It’s poetic in the sense that their debut record ends with both sisters who, at the same time, have been the core of Heart.

Dreamboat Annie, is one of the perfect debut records, ever. Each song compliments each other perfectly and the continual reprise of the title track helps string along the album. The Wilson sisters have been synonymous with powerful women in rock music and this record helped build that foundation. Dreamboat Annie is a great record and I would put it up against almost any record from the 70s as one of the best.








1. Magic Man

2. Dreamboat Annie (Fantasy Child)

3. Crazy On You

4. Sould of the Sea

5. Dreamboat Annue

6. White Lightning and Wine

7. (Love Me Like Music) I’ll Be Your Song

8. Sing Child

9. How Deep It Goes

10. Dreamboat Annie (Reprise)






Follow Heart Online: