“Far From Who We Are” releases hard-hitting new single and music video




HopePunk Records is excited to announce the release of “Sleep in Shadows”, the hard-hitting new single from melodic hard rockers Far From Who We Are, a 3-piece hailing from Johannesburg, South Africa. The song features an exciting vocal collaboration with Germany- based vocalist and producer Gideon Kretschmer, the musician behind many of HopePunk Records’ artists.

“Sleep in Shadows” is another perfect example of this magic recipe.



Musically, ”Sleep in Shadows” is another world-class production from super producer & engineer Johan Heyns, perfectly capturing the band’s signature sound of powerful and emotional melodies soaring over hard-hitting
drums and ear-splitting riffage. Lyrically the song draws from personal experience of dealing with insomnia, and the demons and emotional shadows that haunt us when we close our eyes.

The song is also a first-time collaboration with Gideon Kretschmer, the vocalist behind HopePunk bands HeadFury, WonderWolf and more. Lyrics and melodies were shared and shaped remotely via Whatsapp between the band in South Africa and Gideon in Germany. The song is a fitting 2nd single from the band’s
forthcoming new EP, also titled “Sleep in Shadows”.

The song is taken from the bands’ forthcoming new EP of the same name, slated for a June/
July release. More info @ hopepunkrecords.com

“Rise”, released November 2020, was the first single from their upcoming EP and was also
recently included in Mongrel Records’ FANGS Volume 3, the latest compilation of the best
of the African Rock & Metal underground. Check the awesome music video here.

They’re well known for their energetic and immersive live shows, and the band have shared
the stage with the big names in the SA rock scene. They write, record, mix and master
everything themselves in their own studio (The Laundry Room), and the result is a
recording quality that is truly world-class, which is just what their songs deserve.

Recently nominated for a 2020 South African Metal Music Award (Best Alternative
Band), the band is set for big things in the year to come. The final touches are being added
to their forthcoming new EP (also titled “Sleep in Shadows”), and yes, the songs are
sounding massive!



About the band:
Far From Who We Are bring the HEAVY and the HEART – they continue to push the
boundaries of traditional hard rock, fusing a mix of rock, metal and electro sounds to create
their unique blend of melodic alternative rock that is big on emotion and haunting, yet
super catchy, melodies, underpinned by hard-hitting riffs and beats.

The band consists of brothers Johan Heyns (Guitar, Vocals, Synths), Maarten Heyns (Bass) and Kyle Williams
(Drums). Formed back in 2015, the band released their self-titled debut in 2017, and have since continued to
shape their signature sound through a number of well-received single releases (including “This is War” (2018), “Hollow”, ”Monster in Me” and “Chaos” (2019), “Hurricane”, and “Living a Lie” (2020)).



Follow Far From Who We Are Online: