Ghost and Volbeat Bring Their Co-Headlining Tour to Denver, Colorado’s Ball Arena, Wednesday February 2, 2022



On a very cold wintery evening, I slowly made my way to the Ball Arena for my first show of 2022. I knew I was in for a night of excellent music. I was very pleasantly surprised by the opening band, Twin Temple. From Los Angeles, husband and wife, Alexandra and Zachary James brought their signature sound of Satanic Doo-Wop to the stage. 

Alexandra and Zachary were dressed in black with red symbols of the devil, 3 prong pitch forks, and upside down crosses. They began their show with their ritual Alexandra’s blessing of the venue and all who where there in the name of Satan. They started their set with the instrumental, ‘In Lvx, then moving right into the song, ‘Sex Magick‘, both from their album, Twin Temple (Bring You Their Signature Sound…. Satanic Doo-Wop). Right away I was taking back to the 50’s and 60’s and a sound I grew up with. With Zachary on guitar, backed up by a saxophone, keyboards and drums and Alexandra’s alluring voice, I couldn’t help but move with the music. Throughout their set, Alexandra moved about on the runway interacting with Zachary and the crowd. As each song ended, the crowd’s appreciation was louder and louder. Though their set was short, finishing with, ‘I’m Wicked’, I among many that where there this night, became fans. I enjoyed Twin Temple very much and highly recommend them and their music. 


 Twin Temple are:

Alexandra – vocals

Zachary – guitar




Set List:

1.) In Lvx
2.) Sex Magick
3.) Let’s Have a Satanic Orgy
4.) Satan’s a Woman
5.) I’m Wicked


After  the break, the lights went down and announcer came on and said, “Denver are you ready for Volbeat!” With that, the lights lite up the stage and video screen and Volbeat exploded onto the stage opening with their song, Seal The Deal‘ from their 2016 album, Steal The Deal & Let’s Boogie. Lead singer, Michael Poulsen lead the way out to the microphone at the end of the runway as their fans roared with delight. The tall video screen enabled everyone to see, as lead guitarist Rob Caggiano and bassist Kaspar Boye Larsen moved about the stage. Without slowing down, they moved right onto, Pelvis on Fire from their 2019 album, Rewind, Replay, Rebound. The energy was on the rise and Volbeat was meaning to keep it that way, continuing with Temple of Ekur from their newest album, 2021’s Servant of the Mind. 

The stage was very well lit and the video screen moved back and forth between the members and out into the crowd. Michael Poulsen took a quick breather and chatted with the crowd. Throughout out their entire set, Volbeat moved back and forth through time with their music. Volbeat has released eight studio albums, two live albums, three video albums, twenty-seven singles and twenty-two music videos over the course of 20 plus years. All their studio albums have been certified gold in Denmark. They played a number of songs off their latest album but would stop to play songs like, Doc Holiday from their 2013 album, Outlaw Gentlemen and Shady Ladies

Volbeat finished off their high energy set with, Die to Live and from their 2019 album Rewind, Replay, Rebound. And from their 2008 album Guitar Gangsters & Cadillac Blood, ‘Still Counting’. Taking their bows, the crowd showed their appreciation to Volbeat for a great set of music.


Volbeat are: 

Michael Poulsen – lead vocals – rhythm guitar
Jon Larsen – drums
Rob Caggiano – lead guitar – backing vocals
Kaspar Boye Larsen – bass – backing vocals





Set List:

1.) Seal the Deal
2.) Pelvis on Fire
3.) Temple of Ekur
4.) Lola Montez
5.) Sad Man’s Tongue
6.) Becoming
7.) Fallen
8.) Wait a Minute My Girl
9.) Black Rose
10.) Shotgun Blues
11.) The Devil’s Bleeding Crown
12.) The Devil Rages On
13.) Doc Holliday
14.) The Sacred Stones
15.) Die to Live
16.) Still Counting


As the clock ticked, I waited patiently for the curtain to drop looking forward to the new look Ghost debuted on this tour. The stage and the long runway was tall for this tour. I’m 6′ 2″ and the stage about 6′ 5″, adding to the challenge of photographing the show but, no worries.

As the lights dimmed, a loud roar from the crowd followed. The moment went by and the curtain dropped, their new song, ‘Kaisarion from their upcoming new album Impera, started off the night. The massive stage with the stained glass backdrops lite up has Papa Emeritus IV with his new look made his way out to the runway. Behind him The Nameless Ghouls, were also supporting their new look. wearing gasmasks and jackboots, they looked like something out of futuristic apocalypse movie. I think the new look is great. (see gallery)

They moved right into the song Rats from their 2018 album, Prequelle. The crowd roared and sang with Papa Emeritus IV. Three of the Ghouls, the two guitarist’s and bassist moved about the stage. The three of them would make their way to the front of the runway showing off their skills to the delight of crowd, and throwing out their picks to the audience. In between songs, Papa would talk to the crowd through out the night. After I was done shooting the first 3 songs, I made my way to my seat. I had a great view of the stage. Papa left and returned to the stage in a different outfit. He was in a  flowing robe and colorful head piece that look outstanding. Papa made his way back to the runway as he sang ‘Cirice, which Ghost won the Grammy Award for Best Metal Performance in 2016. As the band moved through their music, large flame throwers would light up the back of the stage periodically along with fire work explosions.

Then came the cover of Metallica’s, ‘Enter Sandman’, which the crowd enjoyed. Finishing off their set and to the delight of the crowd, they played back to back songs that everyone sang to, Dance Macabre’ and ‘Square Hammer. The crowd sang loud and hard to both songs and it was was fun to listen to. Papa thanked everyone for coming to show and knowing that the weather wasn’t the best, he said he was very appreciative. The crowd in turn showed their appreciation for a great show with thunderous applause. 

This is a band I enjoy a great deal and they are a lot of fun to cover. This was my fourth time and I hope there are many more shows to come.


Ghost are:

Tobias Forge (Papa Emeritus IV)

The Nameless Ghouls






1.)  Kaisarion

2.)  Rats

3.)  From the Pinnacle to the Pit

4.)  Mary on a Cross

5.)  Devil Church

6.)  Cirice

7.)  Hunter’s Moon

8.)  Faith  

9.)  Helvetesfönster

10.)  Year Zero

11.)  Ritual

12.)  Mummy Dust

13.)  Enter Sandman (Metallica cover)

14.)  Dance Macabre

15.)  Square Hammer

16.)  Sorrow in the Wind (Emmylou Harris song)




Follow Twin Temple Here:

Follow Volbeat Here:

Follow Ghost here: