Gorillaz electrified Scotiabank Arena in Toronto, Ontario, Canada, October 6, 2022




It was a packed house of excited fans as Gorillaz stopped at Toronto at Scotiabank Arena for their 2022 American and Canadian fall tour on October 6, 2022. It was the band’s first show back in Toronto since 2018, so the crowd was more than ready to dance and groove to instant classics of the band’s career. 

Hip-hop duo EARTHGANG opened the night, and they entertained the audience with their uplifting music. Their presence was known as the crowd in the front jumped and shouted to EARTHGANG’s energetic songs. The duo brought a fresh taste of hip-hop music with a bit of funk and soul, which is great to see compared to the repetitive rap of today’s music. They are an act people should check out for wanting something new in their playlist.







4. Top Down

5. Proud of U

6. Big Love (Louis the Child cover)

7. Run It Up (Snakehips cover)


9. This Side

10. Bank

11. Down Bad (Dreamville cover)

12. UP



The night really began as Gorillaz approached the stage to a packed audience. Co-creator and frontman Damon Albarn gracefully sang behind a 10-piece band that featured backup singers, guitarists and drummers. They played under a massive screen that played artist Jamie Hewlett’s animation of the Gorillaz members: Murdoc, Noodle, Russel and 2D. The 27-song setlist featured a mix of memorable classics like “19-2000,” “On Melancholy Hill,” and “Rhinestone Eyes.” Those old favourites blended seamlessly through Gorillaz’s new songs with “Cracker Island” and “Skinny Ape” from their new album Cracker Island coming out next year. Damon interacted with the audience throughout the night, standing on top of the screaming fans while taking a hat from the crowd. 

The encore was the night’s biggest highlight, where comedian Matt Berry slowly appeared onstage, to the audience’s surprise. He approached the centre to perform the narration of “Fire Coming Out of the Monkey’s Head,” the first performance of the song in the tour. The night didn’t stop there, as Bootie Brown joined onstage to perform “New Gold” and “Stylo.” The real shocker was hip-hop act De La Soul came onstage to perform “Feel Good Inc.” The crowd danced and sang every word in unison to the worldwide hit. The show ended with Gorillaz’s first single, “Clint Eastwood” with reggae singer Sweetie Irie. 

It was a night full of spectacular music and colourful lights. The energy was warm and bright from start to finish, which was the vibe Gorillaz always brought to their shows.


Live band lineup:

Damon Albarn – Lead vocalist, piano

Mike Smith – Keyboards, backing vocals

Karl Vanden Bossche – Electronic drums, percussion

Jesse Hackett – Keyboards

Jeff Wootton – Lead guitarist

Gabriel Wallace – Drummer

Seye Adelekan – Bass, acoustic guitarist, backing vocals




1. M1 A1

2. Last Living Souls

3. Tranz

4. While Light

5. Tomorrow Comes Today

6.. 19-2000

7. Rhinestone Eyes

8. Every Planet We Reach Is Dead

9. Cracker Island

10. O Green World

11. On Melancholy Hill

12. El Mañana

13. New Genious (Brother)

14. Empire Ants

15. Skinny Ape

16. Kids With Guns

17. Opium (with EARTHGANG)

18. Andromeda

19. Dirty Harry (with Bootie Brown)

20. DARE

21. Momentary Bliss

22. Plastic Beach


23. Fire Coming Out of the Monkey’s Head (with Matt Berry, tour debut)

24. New Gold (with Bootie Brown)

25. Stylo (with Bootie Brown)

26. Feel Good Inc. (with De La Soul)

27. Clint Eastwood (with Sweetie Irie)





Follow EARTHGANG Online:

Follow Gorillaz Online: