Let Love Rule On Lenny Kravitz's “Blue Electric Light” Album Review, Released May 24, 2024



It’s been six years since Lenny Kravitz’s last record, 2018’s Raise Vibrations. The singer-songwriter, multi-instrumentalist, and actor was nominated for the Rock and Roll Hall Of Fame this past year ahead of the release of his brand new record, Blue Electric Light. Despite not being inducted, Kravitz has also announced a string of Las Vegas tour dates supporting his brand-new effort.

Blue Electric Light has a total of 12 tracks and has a run time of 56 minutes. Kravitz’s music has always been a little off the beaten path of a regular rock and roll record. Kravitz chooses to add different sounds and influences. Whether it’s techno/synthesizers or an R&B approach, Kravitz has explored different sounds. This can be said for this record. The synthesizers and the more electric approach jumped out to me most on this record. Outside of Kravitz’s second-hand man, Craig Ross on guitars, Kravitz played every other instrument on the record except for horns.

The album starts with “It’s Just Another Fine Day (In This Universe Of Love).” A typical rock and roll record would have a ball to the walls, an in-your-face tune to start. On this record, the opening track is more relaxed and laid back. The funk feel gives the listener an easy listen with Kravitz’s distinct vocals taking center stage. Ross provides a masterful guitar solo that compliments the track well before the solo intertwines into the chorus.

Track two is the catchy “TK421.” This song is the perfect tune for the Memorial Day holiday while hotdogs and hamburgers are being barbequed on the grill. The chorus will get stuck in your head for the remainder of the record. “TK421” was the lead-off single that accompanied the announcement of the record. Instead of the traditional guitar solo, Harold Todd provides listeners with a groovy saxophone solo. The saxophone solo perfectly fits the vibe of the tune and it just seemed like there was no better sound to accompany the five-and-a-half-minute song.



 Track four, “Paralyzed,” is the heaviest song on the record. With a heavy beat behind Kravitz, the tune chugs along with power chords from Kravitz and Ross. This track features my favorite guitar sound. The talk box takes center stage for the solo on this tune. When done right, the talk box can be a powerful sword to wield. On “Paralyzed” it’s executed perfectly. Kravitz, throughout his career, has preached loving one another and “letting love rule.” These themes of love are found within each track and throughout the record.

Following “Paralyzed” is “Human.” the vibe on this track is the complete opposite of “Paralyzed.” The use of cowbells and the Rhodes piano add a happy groove to the song. This song quickly became one of the standout tracks on the entire album. The song has a dance-along quality to it that immediately puts fans in a better mood. The contrast from “Paralyzed” to “Human” works so well. They are opposites yet complement each other when listening to the album in full. 



The positive vibes return on track eight, “Bundle of Joy.” The use of the Moog synthesizer is a new sound that I have never heard used before until this record. It adds padding to Kravitz’s vocals. Kravitz has a lower register so it acts as a higher counterpart on the chorus. Ross is again excellent on guitar on this track. In my opinion, Ross is one of the most underrated guitarists, ever. His playing has aged like fine wine and it’s great to hear him experiment with guitar sounds and find different ones that work on each song.

The next two tracks, “Love Is My Religion” and “Spirit in My Heart,” are almost like part one and part two. The lyrics both contain messages of living together in peace and leaving the hatred and ugliness for one another at the door. The sound on “Love Is My Religion” is padded with a horn section of Todd, Michael Sherman, and Trombone Shorty also known as Troy Andrews. “Spirit in My Heart,” has more funky guitar riffs from Kravitz and Ross while maintaining the message of love. While “political” messaging isn’t for everyone, the excellent musicianship on each tune cannot be denied.

The tune comes to a close with the title track. While the main chunk of the tune is synthesizers, a powerful guitar solo is found towards the middle of the song. This solo is by far the best guitar solo on the entire album. The back half of the track does a magnificent job of tying all the loose ends together and wrapping it all together with one giant bow.

Blue Electric Light is the perfect return for Kravitz after a six-year hiatus. Being a veteran musician with 11 records under his belt, Kravitz knows exactly how to craft a great record. Each song made the album flow and each tune was easily digestible without being too complex. Hearing these songs played live will be a real treat if they announce a tour.








1. It’s Just Another Fine Day (In This Universe of Love)

2. TK421

3. Honey

4. Paralyzed

5. Human

6. Let It Ride

7. Stuck in the Middle

8. Bundle of Joy

9. Love Is My Religion

10. Heaven

11. Spirit in My Heart

12. Blue Electric Light






Follow Lenny Kravitz Online: