Rickie Lee Jones New Album Pieces Of Treasure Out Today. Live Q+A Sat Morning AU time




New Album Pieces Of Treasure Out Today via BMG Modern Recordings),
Produced By Russ Titelman





Photo Credit: Astor Morgan


Rickie Lee Jones lives on the jazz side of life.  Her latest album Pieces of Treasure (BMG Modern Recordings) is a reunion with her lifelong friend, legendary producer Russ Titelman, who co-produced Jones’ star-making 1979 self-titled debut and the seminal Pirates.  Available everywhere on vinyl, CD and streaming, experience the sensual, elegant, groundbreaking spirit that is always Rickie Lee.   

Listen to Pieces of Treasure


To celebrate the release day, Rickie Lee will be livestreaming throughout the day, playing music and taking questions on Instagram Live and Facebook.  
In Australian tune in on Saturday, April 29 11am AEST

Great jazz never imitates what has already been done.  Throughout her career, the Grammy-winning singer songwriter has interpreted an extraordinarily wide range of songs, often on the same album (David Bowie publicly praised her take on “Rebel Rebel”). She has recorded celebrated jazz-leaning albums including Girl at Her Volcano and Pop Pop, but until now, she had never devoted an entire album to the American Songbook.  

“This album is as much about being human, the view of surviving—which means aging, and loving relentlessly—as it is about anything,” says Jones, now 68 with an acclaimed memoir, Last Chance Texaco.  “We love ‘til the day we die, love our lives, our families, and finally ourselves.”

Recorded over five days at Sear Sound in New York City, backed by the quartet of Rob Mounsey on piano, guitarist Russell Malone, bassist David Wong and drummer Mark McLean, Pieces of Treasure— the title a callback to Pirates —is elegantly simple, a deeply emotive set pulled from Jones’ own life and experience.  “This is an album Russ masterfully picked players who are exceptional musicians, who listen and respond,” says Jones.  “And that’s partly why this sparse thing sounds so totally complete, because everyone responds to each other and builds this perfect room.”

“This American Songbook recording shows Rickie’s artistry in full bloom,” says Titelman. “Her voice has always sounded a bit younger than it ought to (that may be a function of her ability to inhabit the character who is singing the song so masterfully that you believe every word) but on this recording the aging voice sounds even better to me than the youthful one. There’s a resonance and warmth in her lower register that wasn’t there before. I adore the young Rickie Lee but I love even more the Old Dame.”



“★★★★…a smoky intimacy that makes it a great late-night album.” – MOJO

“a work of art…this is Rickie and Russ’ Kind of Blue.” – Jazziz 

“Happy to meet you, new Rickie Lee — as great as all the ones who’ve come before.”  – Ann Powers, NPR Music 

“★★★★★…Simply magical” – Echoes (UK)




Pieces of Treasure Tracklisting
1.) Just in Time (Jule Styne, Betty Comden, Adolph Green) 
2.) There Will Never Be Another You (Harry Warren, Mack Gordon) 
3.) Nature Boy (Eden Ahbez)
4.) One for My Baby (Harold Arlen, Johnny Mercer)
5.) They Can’t Take That Away from Me (George Gershwin, Ira Gershwin) 
6.) All the Way (Jimmy Van Heusen, Sammy Cahn)
7.) Here’s That Rainy Day (Jimmy Van Heusen, Johnny Burke) 
8.) September Song (Kurt Weill, Maxwell Anderson)
9.) On the Sunny Side of the Street (Jimmy McHugh, Dorothy Fields) 
10.) It’s All in the Game (Charles G. Dawes, Carl Sigman)

Pieces Of Treasure is available now 




Follow Rickie Lee Jones Online: