To Last Forever – A Review of Collective Soul's “Here To Eternity” Album Reviewed May 17, 2024




In the music world, midnight on Fridays signifies when record companies release new music. On Friday, May 17, there was no shortage of new music for listeners to dive into. Bands like Cage the Elephant and Slash (to read the review on Slash’s newest release click HERE) released new, highly anticipated albums. On the pop and rap side, Billie Eilish and A Boogie wit da Hoodie also released records ahead of massive tours.

But, in between the hard rock blues that Slash released and the hip-hop/rap album that A Boogie wit da Hoodie dropped is Collective Soul’s newest release, Here To Eternity. The 20-song record has a total run time of just over one full hour. The album has a very distinct sound that only Collective Soul has. The theme throughout the record is the band is not afraid to think outside the box while singer Ed Roland’s vocals lead the band.

The band got their start in Stockbridge, Georgia where they released their debut record, Hints Allegations and Things Left Unsaid in 1993 which jumped up to the No. 15 spot on the US Billboard 200. Powered by rock radio classics like “Shine,” “December” and “Precious Declaration,” the band continued to put out solid records since their beginning.

The record was recorded at “The King,” Elvis Presley’s estate in Palm Springs, California. I remember – the last time I saw them – that Roland had been talking about recording there. So, this album has been at least a year in the making. The entire vibe of the album is very calm, there’s a sense of control on the record as if the band is making the album that they always wanted.

The first track of the album is “Mother’s Love.” The opening riff from Jesse Triplett is very familiar to one of the band’s hit songs, “Where The River Flows,” off their 1995 self-titled record. The lead single from the album is a great opener. The band gels together on this tune. I like the use of the distortion pedal on this tune as well. It adds a different sound which is extremely welcoming.



Track No. 3, “Let It Flow,” is a very 90s-sounding tune. Despite the slower beat which sometimes makes a tune heavy, it creates – on this track – a calmness to which listeners can bob their heads. Track No. 4, “Not The Same,” shows off the group’s southern roots. This song has a very southern, borderline country vibe to it. Between the acoustic guitar mixed with the slide guitars it’s the perfect combination. I like how the band is going outside the box on some of the tracks on the record.

Track No. 5, “Bob Dylan (Where Are You Today)” is a surprising live tune. The band has played this song for at least a year or two at this point. I remember the song being played a year ago when there were talks of a new album. I like how Bob Dylan-esque this tune is. Between the solo acoustic guitar, harmonica, and political lyrics, it’s the perfect head nod to one of the greatest in the music business.



The middle of the album contains good songs that keep this marathon record moving. “Kick It,” “Sister And Mary,” as well as “Be The One,” are great, they are not filler songs, but they work well together. “Be The One” is a two-and-a-half minute ballad where Roland is at the piano.

Track 12, “Who Loves,” is a great song on the second half of the album. The guitar combination of Triplett and Ed Roland’s brother, Dean, makes a great wall of sound on guitar. With Johnny Rabb and Will Turpin joining the rest of the band on the chorus, it creates beautiful harmonies.



The following track, “La Dee Da,” is a happy, bouncy tune. In fact, it gives me a feeling that the Beatles were the inspiration behind this tune. I liked the inclusion of string instruments in this tune. Again, the band is adding different sounds to the record which makes the other songs unique.

The rest of the album is just as enjoyable. The band returns to their rock roots on tunes like “No Man’s Land” and “Therapy.” The other five songs work well in the latter stages of the album and overall, it’s an easy listen.

Collective Soul is one of the most underrated bands that came out of the 90s. While their bread and butter is rock and roll, on albums like Here To Eternity, they are also not afraid to take risks when they don’t necessarily have to. In fact, the gamble paid off for the band as there were so many refreshing sounds on this record, that any fan of the band must give this album a listen to.








1. Mother’s Love

2. Bluer Than So Blue

3. Let It Flow

4. Not The Same

5. Bob Dylan (Where Are You Today)

6. Hey Man

7. Kick It

8. Matter Of Fact

9. Sister And Mary

10. Be The One

11. Keep It On Track

12. Who Loves

13. La Dee Da

14. Bring On The Day

15. Words Away

16. No Man’s Land

17. Letter From E

18. I Know You, You Know Me

19. Therapy

20. Over And Out





Collective Soul is:

Ed Roland – Vocals/Acoustic Guitar/Piano

Dean Roland – Guitars/Background Vocals

Will Turpin – Bass/Background Vocals

Johnny Rabb – Drums

Jesse Triplett – Guitar/Background Vocals






Follow Collective Soul Online: