Surreal, sinister, and inherently unsettling, “I’m Not Safe” conjures a spinning carousel of sounds designed to set you off balance; a ride that’s not for the faint hearted, but one that is guaranteed to have you coming back for more. 

A fitting follow-up to recent single “Dizzy”, the latest from the UK-via-Stockholm outfit is a sensory dazing smorgasbord of uncompromising genres, high emotions and sonic explorations.

Speaking about the track, Fran Baxter of Birthday Girl says:

“With “I’m Not Safe” we just tried to throw in all of our combined mental issues and into something that’s a bit unsettling but you can still put on at a party. A guitar banger, which is apparently quite a rare treat these days.”



An off-kilter blend of music-box like tinkerings, motorik beats and warped whammy-barred guitars; “I’m Not Safe” is a thrill-seeking hit that impacts like The Horrors and Can jamming in the ballroom of The Overlook Hotel.

Evidence of a band pushing their limits with a willing sense of adventure, the track is a delirious first taster of Birthday Girl’s upcoming debut album, which is planned for release later this Autumn. Written and recorded in their current base of Stockholm, “I’m Not Safe” was produced and mastered by Birthday Girl themselves.

The unveiling of “I’m Not Safe” also arrives with the confirmation of an extensive European tour later for 2021. Kicking off in Oslo, Norway on 10th September, the four-piece will be taking in a total of 24 dates across 8 countries before finishing up with a hometown show in Stockholm, Sweden on 15th October.



Full dates and details as below: 


10 – Revolver, Oslo, Norway

15 – Plan B, Malmo, Sweden

16 – Molotov, Hamburg, Germany 

18 – The Shakespeare Pub, Herdecke, Germany 

19 – Incredibell Sound Festival, Trier/Saarburg, Germany 

20 – Freiburg, Germany 

21 – Brin de Zinc, Chambery, France

22 – Le Pointe Carre, Angouleme, France

23 – Le Scene Michelet, Nantes, France

24 – L’International, Paris, France

25 – Rouen, France

26 – Muziek Centrum Kinky Star, Ghent, Belgium

28 – The Lanes, Bristol, UK

29 – Headrow House, Leeds, UK

30 – Aatma Zone, Manchester, UK


1- Strongroom, London, UK

2 – Hot Box Live, Chelmsford, UK

3 – Lysergic Lounge, Birmingham, UK

4 – Madame Moustache, Bruxelles, Belgium

7 – Zurich, Switzerland

8 – Alter, Mannheim, Germany

10 – Underdogs, Prague, Czech Republic

15 – Hus 7, Stockholm, Switzerland


Composed of members from the UK and Sweden, Birthday Girl are a four-piece who dabble in krautrock, psyche, shoegaze and more to create compositions with complex vocal harmonies and ambience with abrasive noise. Formed in 2017 by twins, Martin and Fran Baxter with friend, James Corden when they made the decision to move from the north of England for a new life in Scandinavia, the line up was completed with the addition of Swedish guitarist Joakim Sandegård. Receiving huge praise from Iggy Pop on BBC 6Music and Cheryl Waters on KEXP for their early releases, the band have since supported the likes of Glasvegas, Frankie and the Witch Fingers and Cocaine Piss and built a dedicated following of their own.

Touring Europe extensively since their inception, in 2020 the band embarked on their most surreal tour yet. Navigating lockdown restrictions and border closures as they tried to outpace the lethal second wave of the coronavirus that was sweeping across Europe last Autumn, against the odds Birthday Girl completed a 20 date international tour in the most prohibitive of circumstances. Documenting their experiences in a short-film released earlier this year, you can watch the aptly titled ‘Band On The Run’ here.

Now gearing-up to release their long anticipated debut album, Birthday Girl present an outlandish first vision of what to expect with their new single: “I’m Not Safe”. 

“We’re announcing a lot of shows for the autumn and we wanted to put one of the songs from our debut album that we’re most excited to play live.” adds Baxter of the track.

Don’t miss the band as they tour Europe this Autumn