BLANKETMAN Share new single “Beach Body” and Video


BLANKETMAN Share new single “Beach Body” and VideoOut now via [PIAS]


Blanketman return today with new single “Beach Body”. Produced by Luke Smith (Foals, Depeche Mode, Petite Noir, LIFE), it arrives as the follow-up to their much-heralded debut single “Taking You With Me”, which cruelly arrived right after the band performed sold-out live shows just before Lockdown took hold.



Over the last year or two the band have been spearheading a burgeoning scene in Manchester and have gigged extensively throughout the city, performing their original brand of restless post-punk and cerebral indie-pop, served with a sharper, more sardonic pop edge than many of their more po-faced peers. So sharp in fact that Steve Hanley, of The Fall and Brix Smith & Extricated, has performed live on stage with them on two occasions already.

Back in March, the band’s debut single “Taking You With Me” rightly earned its share of early media praise, including a Next Hype slot from Jack Saunders on BBC Radio 1, as well as a Ones To Watch 2020 pick from Huw Stephens. However, where their introduction to the world shone the light on a band full of ideas – and cut a boundless, energetically pop edge that saw them likened to early Blur – new single “Beach Body” dials up the urgency and distils a swift insistence, on top of which vocalist Adam Hopper masterminds a trove of indelible melodies, punctuated by the refrain “Lift off! Lift off!”.

He comments on the new single: “After a troubled lost summer, we felt we needed a new advert for British exceptionalism and the Brit abroad.”

Blanketman are a band with both style and substance in abundance. Lift off, indeed.


Blanketman are:

Adam Hopper – lead vocals, guitar
Jeremy Torralvo Godoy – bass, backing vocals
Ellie-Rose Elliott – drums, backing vocals
Daniel Hand – lead guitar
Eden Hemphill – keys, guitar, violin, backing vocals



FOLLOW Blanketman Online: