FINK return with ‘What Would You Call Yourself’ & NEW ALBUM




Twenty years of musical adventure leads the refreshed FINK back home, announcing back-to-basics

album, Beauty In Your Wake with new single…

What Would You Call Yourself

Fin Greenall, one-time collaborator with John Legend, Amy Winehouse, Colin Stetson and more returns to his Cornish-roots for album eight

FINK’s rootsy, three-piece line up announces that the new, 10-track album, recorded in raw, eye-to-eye conditions, will be released in July

FINK – What Would You Call Yourself – OUT NOW

From the new album Beauty In Your Wake


Released Fri 5 July 2024 on R’COUP’D


Taking a winding route home but finding everything they always needed when they got there, long-established alt-folk trio, FINK return with new single, What Would You Call Yourself to tip the first domino in the run in to singer-songwriter, Fin Greenall’s eighth studio album under the genre-hopping moniker. Coalescing around the emergent urgency in each of the album’s ten tracks and intimate, closed-door sessions in picturesque Cornwall, the soul-reaching Beauty In Your Wake is released on the band’s R’COUP’D label on Fri 5 July 2024.

Touching listeners’ lives both profoundly and in passing over 27 years as the metamorphic FINK, Greenall’s introspective, philosophical and gently euphoric songwriting of the present day was recorded in respectful, unhurried harmony with his long-term, collaborative bandmates, Tim Thornton (drums/guitar) and Guy Whittaker (bass) over 30 beautiful days in total seclusion. Now resident in Berlin, native Cornishman Greenall sought the solitude and back-to-earth atmosphere of the small village of Zennor, on the county’s picturesque Atlantic coast for the agenda-free, organic recording sessions.

The band were invited to record at producer Sam Okell’s newly built studio, and were the first band to create there. Okell is the Grammy Award-winning engineer and mixer of The Beatles’ Get Back and Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band 50th Anniversary Release.

Imagining that those conditions could percolate a lo-fi, classic English folk album, the joint creative restlessness of the band and Okell instead pushed Beauty In Your Wake into the expansive realms of FINK’s commercially and critically-successful albums of the noughties and 2010’s. It is a triumphant return to self. FINK’s music has always been woven into a broader global tapestry, not least because the band’s music has featured on countless film and TV soundtracks such as Better Call SaulThe Walking Dead, and most recently on the latest series of True Detective and Ava du Vernay’s Origin, for which Greenall was invited to pen an exclusive song.



First confirmation that FINK are back with a collection of deeply-connecting songs – arrives with their confident, riffy and expansive first single – which also selected itself as the album’s opener.

Greenall says of the track: “If you were alone in this world, what would you call yourself? Without the pressure of others, how would you see yourself? ‘What Would You Call Yourself’ is about the power of language and also the pointlessness of names, brands and gimmicks. It’s about identity but from within yourself, not your identity in relation to others.”

FINK will release Beauty In Your Wake on CD, vinyl, cassette, and digital formats including Dolby Atmos. The full track listing for the album has been confirmed as:

1. What Would You Call Yourself
2. The Only Thing That Matters
3. Be Forever Like A Curse
4. It’s Like You Ain’t Mine No More
5. Follow You Down
6. I Don’t See You As The Others Do
7. One Last Gift
8. Don’t Forget To Leave
9. So We Find Ourselves In Love With You
10. When I Turn This Corner

Going ‘overground’ in the music world for the first time in 1997 as a dance-orientated signee to Ninja Tunes’ sister label N-Tone, Greenall’s life in music has travelled diverse roads and lit numerous corners of the international music business. The reformed, classic FINK line-up is the same as that which first recorded the band’s breakthrough album, Biscuits For Breakfast (2006), a release that proved to be a springboard for widespread international touring. Followed by three further albums, Distance and Time (2007), Sort of Revolution (2009) and Perfect Darkness (2011), the band became increasingly experimental, both in the studio and on stage.

Speaking in recent years of his early-career writing sessions with a young Amy Winehouse, Greenall’s songcraft and collaborative spirit, both as and independent of FINK, has led him into the studio and on stage with artists as wide-ranging as Mahalia, Banks, Ben Howard and Pino Palladino.  Amongst his accolades are three BMI Songwriting Awards for this work with John Legend on his Evolver record, including co-writing his No.1 single Greenlight and contributing tracks to his 12 Years A Slave soundtrack.

For the most up-to-date information on FINK, being amongst the first to know about future live dates as well as releases, sign up to the band’s community at or follow them on: