SEA POWER UK headline tour now underway




New album Everything Was Forever out now


Sea Power are back on tour in the UK today, following the release of their UK Top 5 album Everything Was Forever.

Hear the album in full here and see the band live at the following venues.

April 2022

Tuesday 12 – 1865, SouthamptonWednesday 13 – O2 Institute 2, BirminghamThursday 14 – Roundhouse, LondonTuesday 19 – O2 Academy, BristolThursday 21 – Leadmill, SheffieldFriday 22 – St Lukes, GlasgowSaturday 23 – Albert Hall, Manchester

More about Sea Power’s new album Everything Was Forever

Putting change and growth on the agenda, Everything Was Forever’s announcement was accompanied by news that the band would be dropping the word “British” from their name. The ensuing international news headlines couldn’t drown out the power of the band’s first new music, however. Through the troubled-times anthemia of lead single “Two Fingers”, the bubbling electronica on follow-up “Folly”, and the rousing “Green Goddess” – each of which was playlisted by BBC 6 Music – Sea Power opened up a brand-new era for themselves, while holding onto all that has made them such a beloved fixture of UK music.

In an explanatory article in The Guardian, the band wrote of their fascination for the elemental force of the sea and of their long-standing enthusiasm for the sea as a source of sustainable energy: “Removing the word ‘British’ does NOT indicate any aversion to the British Isles whatsoever. We all feel immensely fortunate to have grown up in these islands. We love these lands – the physical beauty, our diversity, our people, our culture and much of our history. But now we are just Sea Power – staring out at the wonderful waves, a pastime this island nation understands more than most.”

The title for the Everything Was Forever album was inspired by Alexei Yurchak’s 2006 book Everything Was Forever, Until It Was No More: The Last Soviet Generation, a compelling overview of Russia as Glasnost and Perestroika ushered in amazing changes. For Sea Powe, the phrase Everything Was Forever suggests both sonorous fatalism and an admonitory clarion call – act now regarding our planet or soon reach a state where action is impossible. The album is perhaps the band’s most diverse, ranging from the meditative prettiness of Scaring At The Sky and Fire Escape In The Sea to the galvanising clarion call of Two Fingers, a track that has already sounded out powerfully from radio sets around the world. The album’s subject matter moves from fury and wonder at the whole wide world to a spectral memoir from a Lakeland childhood.



Everything Was Forever track listing:

1. Scaring At The Sky2. Transmitter3. Two Fingers4. Fire Escape In The Sea5. Doppelgänger6. Fear Eats The Soul7. Folly8. Green Goddess9. Lakeland Echo10. We Only Want To Make You Happy

Sea Power are:

Jan Scott Wilkinson – vocals / guitarsNeil Hamilton Wilkinson – vocals / guitarsMartin Noble – guitarsMatthew Wood – drumsAbi Fry – violaPhil Sumner – keyboards / cornet