Do You Remember The Black Crowes' “Three Snakes and One Charm” Classic Album Released In July 23, 1996



Picture it, in 1990, the Marietta, Georgia, rock band, The Black Crowes bursted onto the scene with 1990’s Shake Your Moneymaker which roared up the US Billboard 200 chart at the No. 4 position. Six years and two albums later (1992’s The Southern Harmony and Musical Companion and 1994’s Amorica.), the Black Crowes had three albums reach into the top 20 on the US Billboard 200 chart while crawling into 1996 to record Three Snakes and One Charm.

While the Black Crowes hobbled out of the “Amorica or Bust” tour of 1995 and were at ends with each other, their fans were hungry for new material. So, with the brothers of Chris and Rich Robinson writing all the songs, The Black Crowes released their fourth effort in July of 1996. The original release, which contains 12 songs over 49 minutes of southern rock reached the No. 15 position on the US Billboard 200 chart.

For starters, “Under a Mountain,” eases listeners into the rock and roll extravaganza of The Black Crowes. “Under a Mountain” contains sleazy, twangy slide guitars from Rich Robinson and guitarist Marc Ford. The heavy hitter of this tune is a fan favorite and is a deep cut in live shows. I love the laid-back vibe of this song from the start.



With track two, “Good Friday,” fans encounter a harmonica that signals the beginning of the tune. Drummer Steve Gorman guides “Good Friday” with the continuation of the guitar sounds from “Under a Mountain.” Additionally, the laid-back vibe of this song is delightful. This song makes listeners want to lie down in the tall grass and consume the entirety of this track. Furthermore, the wonderfully talented Barbara Mitchell and Erica Stewart support Robinson on vocals. This creates a heavy punch that makes this song so tasteful.

The next track, “Nebekanezer” is a sing-along song that Johnny Colt supports with a chunky bassline. The chorus of “So tell us what the sorry singer might do. All of his friends complain that they got the flu. They ain’t sick in the head. They look like the living dead and that’s not cool,” will get stuck in fan’s heads for days. 

Song five, “Blackberry,” is a little simpler than the previous songs on the record. However, this jumpy straightforward rock and roll song is perfectly placed in the center of the record. Consequently, this song helps transition to the complex back half.



The record’s biggest ballad,” “Girl from a Pawnshop,” appears as the sixth song on the album. Some fans might see this song as a sibling of “She Talks To Angles” which appeared on the aforementioned Shake Your Moneymaker. This ballad is rooted in the band’s country rock roots and starts like a storm. Initially, it’s slow; however, by the middle, it’s rough and tough and by the end, it returns to the idyllic calmness. The screeching solo by Ford during the heavier section of this song is one of his best on the record.

The album’s seventh track is the horn-infused “(Only Halfway to Everywhere).” The horn section of the Dirty Dozen Brass Band adds a refreshing sound to the record. With the horns mixed behind Robinson’s screaming vocals creates a wonderful harmony. This perfect song separates the previous ballad from the softer, “Bring On, Bring On.”

“How Much for Your Wings?” is the sibling ballad of “Girl from a Pawnshop.” It has the same small-town, second-hand store feeling. This song is an acoustic guitarist’s dream, it’s great to hear them in the foreground.



“Let Me Share the Ride,” “Better When You’re Not Alone” and “Evil Eye” cap off the record with similar themes as the entire record. Additionally, they serve as powerful final songs to the record. Furthermore, they are great tunes. Each song is perfect in the later stages of the album, which ultimately rounds out the record.

With Three Snakes and One Charm, The Black Crowes delivered another heavy hitter of a record. This record helped re-root the band back to the Southern rock vibes that were apparent on their first two records which got a little murky with Amorica.

It isn’t easy to pick one favorite song. That’s why this record is so great. In six years, The Black Crowes went four-for-four great records with Three Snakes and One Charm being the last of the four. I suggest going back and listening to this album, I bet that you might find a new favorite song.







1. Under a Mountain

2. Good Friday

3. Nebekanezer

4. One Mirror Too Many

5. Blackberry

6. Girl from a Pawnshop

7. (Only) Halfway to Everywhere

8. Bring On, Bring On

9. How Much for Your Wings?

10. Let Me Share the Ride

11. Better When You’re Not Alone

12. Evil Eye





Follow The Black Crowes Online: