Warrant With Special Guest Lita Ford at Soaring Eagle Casino in Mt. Pleasant, Michigan on March 29, 2024




Let the good times rock indeed!  That’s exactly what we did with Warrant and Lita Ford at Soaring Eagle Casino in Mt. Pleasant, Michigan, their second stop in Michigan on their Let The Good Times Rock tour.  The 80’s were a golden era for rock music, with bands like these setting the stage on fire with their high energy and timeless hits.  The casino was buzzing with excitement – myself included.  We were bound by our love for the music that defined our youth in the 80’s.     

Lita Ford’s journey through the music industry is a testament to her groundbreaking impact in the rock and metal world, particularly for women in music.  If you didn’t know, Lita’s music career began when she was 16.  She joined The Runaways in the mid-to-late 70’s alongside notable icons such as Joan Jett and Cherie Currie.  Lita embarked on a solo career after The Runaways disbanded which further cemented her status as a metal icon.  With her powerful guitar skills and commanding stage presence, Lita Ford not only achieved success in her own right but also paved the way for countless women rockers in the music business, inspiring generations of female rockers to pick up the guitar.  

The atmosphere was electric as Accept’s “Balls To The Wall” played over the house PA, setting the stage for an unforgettable night.  As the lights dimmed and the iconic riff echoed through the venue, the crowd’s excitement grew.  Lita Ford hit the stage with unstoppable energy, kicking off her set with “Gotta Let Go” from her 1984 album Dancin’ On The Edge, instantly captivating everyone in attendance.  The show was a masterclass in musicianship and stage presence, especially during “Back To The Cave” from her 1988 self-titled album Lita.  It was during this song that legendary drummer Bobby Rock took a moment to showcase his skills with a little drum solo performed on the hardware of his kit, seamlessly transitioning into Marten Andersson’s compelling bass solo and Patrick Kennison’s electrifying guitar solo, culminating in a shared guitar solo between Lita and Pat that left the audience in awe.  

The energy in the room was palpable as Bobby Rock delivered his full drum solo during “Can’t Catch Me,” further elevating the dynamic performance.  But it was the nostalgic rendition of the Runaways classic “Cherry Bomb” that truly brought the house down.  Lita broke out her guitar from her days with the Runaways, creating a special moment that had the crowd roaring and singing along with every word.  In a poignant turn, Lita instructed us to pull out our cell phones and light up the room for “Close My Eyes Forever,” saying, “This is how I want to remember you, forever.”  Pat’s role in singing the duet with Lita was nothing short of amazing, honoring the original duet with Ozzy Osbourne that remains a massive hit and a staple on radio playlists.  Lita Ford’s incredible show was a testament to her enduring talent and the timeless appeal of her music, leaving us with memories that will indeed last forever.   


Lita Ford’s Band:  

Lita Ford – Lead vocals & guitar

Patrick Kennison – Guitar, vocals

Bobby Rock – Drums

Marten Andersson – Bass, backing vocals



Set List:  

 1.  Gotta Let Go

2.  Larger Than Life

3.  Relentless

4.  Hungry

5.  Playin’ With Fire

6.  Back To The Cave

7.  Can’t Catch Me

8.  Cherry Bomb

9.  Black Widow

10.  Only Women Bleed

11.  Close My Eyes Forever

12.  Kiss Me Deadly


Warrant quickly rose to fame as one of the leading forces in the rock and metal scene, especially during their peak years from 1989 to 1996.  Known for their electrifying glam metal anthems and memorable power ballads, they’ve etched an indelible mark on the 80’s and 90’s music scene.  The band has had lineup changes through the years, with Robert Mason, known for his work with Lynch Mob on their self-titled sophomore album, joining the original lineup with Eric Turner, Joey Allen, Jerry Dixon, and Steven Sweet.    Robert’s powerful vocals and dynamic stage presence have made him the perfect fit to carry on the band’s legacy.  His ability to honor the late Jani Lane’s memory while infusing the band with his unique energy has helped Warrant continue to captivate audiences, proving that the spirit of their music endures.   

There was so much anticipation in the air as I overheard fans speculating whether the band would open with anthems like “Down Boys or “Cherry Pie.”   The suspense broke with a booming announcement: “Northern Michigan, please welcome from Hollywood, California … WARRANT!!!”  The energy that followed was infectious as Warrant burst onto the stage with boundless energy, launching into “Sure Feels Good To Me” from their iconic 1990 album Cherry Pie, immediately proving that they were here to deliver a high-octane rock show.  

I witnessed a touching moment unfold during “Sometimes She Cries” from their 1989 debut album Dirty Rotten Filthy Stinking Rich, as a couple found their way to the aisle, dancing and singing to each other, lost in the music.  Robert then rallied the audience for some crowd participation on “Louder Harder Faster,” the title track from their latest 2017 album, and we eagerly lent our voices to the performance.  The band’s chemistry was undeniable with Eric Turner and Joey Allen’s guitar attack, Robbie Crane’s solid bass lines (filling in for Jerry Dixon on some dates), and Steven Sweet’s thunderous drumming forming the backbone of the unforgettable show.  The musicianship on display was a testament to years of touring and recording together.  

In a tribute to Jani Lane, Mason requested us to illuminate the venue with our phones, dedicating the ballad “Heaven” to Warrant’s late singer.  It was a moment of collective remembrance and respect, bridging the band’s past with its present.  

In another unforgettable moment of crowd participation, Robert Mason led us in a rendition of “We Will Rock You” by Queen.  The call and response between Mason and the crowd – “WE WILL…”  followed by the thunderous “WE WILL ROCK YOU!” from the crowd.  Mason then teased, “try this one:  SHE’S MY…”  met with an enthusiastic “CHERRY PIE!”  Closing the show with everyone singing along to their smash hit, “Cherry Pie.”

Warrant’s show was full of contagious energy, a reminder of their significant place in rock history and their continued relevance today.  Seeing them live, particularly with Mason, was a powerful affirmation of the band’s legacy and their unwavering connection to fans, old and new.          



Robert Mason – Lead Vocals

Eric Turner – Guitar, backing vocals

Joey Allen – Guitar, backing vocals

Robbie Crane – Bass, backing vocals

Steven Sweet – Drums, backing vocals




Set List:  

 1.  Sure Feels Good to Me

2.  Love in Stereo

3.  Bed of Roses

4.  You’re The Only Hell Your Mama Ever Raised

5.  I Saw Red

6.  Big Talk

7.  Mr. Rainmaker

8.  Blind Faith

9.  The Hole in My Wall

10.  Down Boys

11.  D.R.F.S.R.

12.  Sometimes She Cries

13.  Louder Harder Faster

14.  Heaven

15.  Uncle Tom’s Cabin

16.  Cherry Pie