Backstreet Boys on DNA World Tour 7-13-2022 by Annette Holloway for All Music Magazine

Pop Music Icons Backstreet Boys DNA World Tour Rocked Everybody in Virginia Beach, Virginia July 13, 2022


Backstreet Boys left hearts broken when they had to pause their DNA World Tour due to the pandemic in 2020 which was in support of their tenth studio album DNA (released 2019). Finally on July 13, 2022, fans filed in on a hot Virginia Beach night to experience the world class performance of a lifetime from “the boys” who are grown men, now with families of their own. Together since 1993, time has treated this larger-than-life band very well as was evident from their high energy and incredible vocals.

The beautiful Australian superstar pop singer, songwriter and actress Delta Goodrem opened the night at Veterans United Home Loans Amphitheater (aka Virginia Beach Amphitheater). She is not yet well-known in the U.S., but her powerhouse voice, which rivals that of Carrie Underwood, and her engaging performance on this tour will likely change that. Among others, she sang “Lost Without You,” her hit “Born to Try,” and a cover of “Running Up That Hill” by Kate Bush popular from the Netflix show Stranger Things. She is on this tour through July 30th. Check out photos below by Annette Holloway Photography LLC.




Anticipation was high as stage lights went up and all Backstreet Boys album titles flashed in gold on the screen as the intro to “Everyone” filled the amphitheater. Futuristic larger-than-life videos of each band member appeared on screen, then cryo filled the stage and pentagon-shaped catwalk for the grand entrance. As the smoke cleared, the boys were back in black standing in front of pillars of light. The band members AJ McLean, Nick Carter, Brian Littrell, Kevin Richardson, and Howie Dorough opened with “I Wanna Be With You” in their signature a ccapella harmonies. Then the beat dropped, the dancing began, and it was time to party like it’s 1999. Thousands of women screamed. It was deafening.

With no musicians with instruments on stage, the band had room to spread out for their choreographed dance moves including jumping off two platforms without missing a beat.  The background visuals featured futuristic state-of-the-art graphics that gave each song a positive energy and a unique flair with larger-than-life production elements to match.

“Undone” featured lighted mic stands integrated into perfectly timed dance moves. The band proclaimed their love for the audience in “Shape of My Heart,” and commented how they could not see an end to the sea of people that faded into the horizon. Some fan favorites were “I Want It That Way,” Shape of My Heart,” and “Larger Than Life.” “Breathe” from the newest album DNA showcased their vocal harmony ability perfectly and is at the core of what made the band famous from day one. However, the most anticipated song, “Everybody (Backstreet’s Back),” rocked the amphitheater like no other. Check out photos by Annette Holloway Photography LLC and the complete setlist below.


Backstreet Boys Band Members

Nick Carter
Howie Dorough
Brian Littrell
AJ McLean
Kevin Richardson





Backstreet Boys Setlist

1. I Wanna Be With You
2. The Call
3. Don’t want you back
4. New Love
5. Get Down (You’re the One for Me)
6. Show Me the Meaning of Being Lonely
7. Incomplete
8. Undone
9. More Than That
10. Chances
11. Shape of My Heart
12. Drowning
13. Quit Playing Games (With My Heart)
14. As Long as You Love Me
15. No Place
16. Breathe
17. Don’t Wanna Lose You Now
18. I’ll never break your heart
19. All I Have to Give
20. Everybody (Backstreet’s Back)
21. We’ve Got It Goin’ On
22. It’s Gotta Be You
23. That’s the Way I Like It
24. Get Another Boyfriend
25. The One
26. I Want It That Way
27. Don’t Go Breaking My Heart
28. Larger Than Life




Follow Backstreet Boys Online:

Follow Delta Goodrem Online: